Cairngorm Mountain Biking

Just back from a short family trip to Coylumbridge near Aviemore. Managed to squeeze a lot in in the short space of time, The family tried Archery and Ski lessons at Loch Insh Some mountain biking and an excellent time at Rothiemurchus clambering around the trees  at treezone.

We stayed in the Hilton which is an ideal location for families to stay to explore the Cairngorm area with lots of activities on site and nearby. A bit pricey and very busy but very handy for the kids.

First outing on the bike was to the spectacular Loch An Eilein with my eldest daughter who was thoroughly enjoying herself until she spotted the killer black slugs along the trail! This triggered much upset and involved tears and such like! Anyone have a cure for irrational fears??

Click Link for Endomondo Track

Another bit of bother on this cycle was my chain kept coming off and gears kept ghost shifting, It appears I had bent something falling off a log so I had to pop my bike into Bothy Bikes  whilst I was at Treezone just accross the road to get fixed allowing me to get out again that afternoon for another ride.

I had intended to ride to the summit of Bynac More however due to time constraints I had to cut my journey short by a couple of miles. However it was still a very much worthwhile route Endomondo link

This is An Lochan Uaine which is along the route and the water is an amazing colour worthwhile stopping for a look on the way past. I managed to collect 6 punctures on this route and ran out of spare tubes and repair patches so I would recommend being fully prepared for any eventuality as you are venturing out into the mountains and far from civilization.

The Aviemore area is a fantastic destination for outdoor activities and we regulary visit. There is so much to do for all abilities and ages in the area that I think it is well worth a visit.

This entry was posted in Mountain Bike, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment